MAC Media Day kicks off football season

Wassink is returning for his senior season after an injury kept him out for most of his junior year. 

The 2019 Mid-American Conference Football Media Day will take place on Tuesday, July 23 at Ford Field in Detroit, MI.

The event kicks off the 2019-20 season in the MAC, which officially begins on Thursday, Aug. 29 and concludes with the annual MAC Championship game on Sat., Dec. 7 at Ford Field.

MAC commissioner Dr. Jon Steinbrecher will address the media to begin the day at 11 a.m. with his “State of the Conference” welcome address. MAC players and coaches will then take questions from the media until 2:30 p.m. Each school will have their head coach and two players from their rosters representing them.

For Western Michigan, senior quarterback Jon Wassink and senior linebacker Najee Clayton will be in attendance with head coach Tim Lester.

Other notable people made available to the media will be National Coordinator of Officials Rogers Redding, Coordinator of Football Officials for the College Officiating Consortium Bill Carollo and former Central Michigan head coach Herb Deromedi, who is a member of the NFF College Football Hall of Fame, MAC Hall of Fame and recently served on the College Football Playoff Committee. 

The event will be shown live on ESPN3 and be available on the WatchESPN app from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. 

2019 MAC Football Media Day Head Coaches and Student Athlete Participants

MAC East Division

Akron head coach Tom Arth, DB Alvin Davis, QB Kato Nelson

Bowling Green head coach Scot Loeffler, RB Andrew Clair, DL David Konowalski

Buffalo head coach Lance Leipold, RB Jaret Patterson, LB James Patterson

Kent State head coach Sean Lewis, QB Woody Barret, LB Nick Faulkner

Miami head coach Chuck Martin, DL Dough Costin, RB Maurice Thomas

Ohio head coach Frank Solich, QB Nathan Rourke, DB Javon Hagan

MAC West Division

Ball State head coach Mike Neu, WR Malik Dunner, LB Jacob White

Central Michigan head coach Jim McElwain, OL Steve Eipper, DB Da’Quaun Jamison

Eastern Michigan Head Coach Chris Creighton, QB Mike Glass, DB Vince Calhoun

Northern Illinois Head Coach Thomas Hammock, RB Tre Harbison, S Mykelti Williams 

Toledo head coach Jason Candle, QB Mitchell Guadagni, OL Bryce Harris

Western Michigan head coach Tim Lester, QB Jon Wassink, LB Najee Clayton 


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.