Outland Trophy watchlist football

More preseason award hype is coming to Bronco football.

Senior linebacker Treshaun Hayward was added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List by the Football Writers Association of America. The Nagurski Trophy is given annually to college football’s best defensive player.

Hayward was previously named to the Butkus Award watchlist for college football’s best linebacker. He was also named to Phil Steele’s preseason fourth team All-American along with being a unanimous first team All-Mid-American Conference selection ahead of the season. Hayward won the 2019 MAC Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Additionally, redshirt senior offensive linemen Mike Caliendo and Jaylon Moore were named to the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List by the Football Writers Association of America. The Outland Trophy honors college football’s top interior lineman.

Caliendo was named first team All-Conference by Phil Steele and second team by Athlon Sports ahead of the season. Moore has earned unanimous first team All-Conference selections going into the 2020 season. Caliendo and Moore both earned second team All-MAC selections last year.

WMU was one of only five schools with multiple players named to the preseason Outland Trophy watchlist, along with Air Force, Appalachian State, BYU and West Virginia.

One other Bronco, sophomore wide receiver Skyy Moore, has been named to a preseason award watchlist. Moore is named on the Biletnikoff Award watchlist for the nation’s best receiver.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.